Skip to main content

Tag Faculty awards

Two to receive CALS distinguished service awards

October 17, 2007

Biochemist Hector DeLuca and former dean Leo Walsh will receive Distinguished Service Awards from the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences at an awards banquet on Thursday, Oct. 25.


October 3, 2007

Associate Biological Safety Officer Margy Lambert has been named assistant editor of the journal Applied Biosafety and will contribute a regular column to the journal.

Wisconsin veterinarian honored by American Association of Bovine Practitioners

October 2, 2007

Garrett R. Oetzel, a food animal production medicine veterinarian at the University of Wisconsin–Madison School of Veterinary Medicine, received the 2007 AABP Alpharma Award of Excellence during the American Association of Bovine Practitioners (AABP) annual meeting in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada on September 22, 2007.

Wisconsin prairie to be named for botany Professor Hugh Iltis

September 17, 2007

A prairie in Marquette County will soon be named for Hugh Iltis, a University of Wisconsin–Madison professor emeritus of botany and former director of the UW–Madison Herbarium.


September 5, 2007

Sharon M. Vetter has joined the School of Pharmacy as its new assistant dean for research administration. Vetter had been with the Department of Pediatrics.

International research awards announced to faculty, staff

August 29, 2007

New research grants totaling nearly $140,000 have been awarded to University of Wisconsin–Madison faculty and staff, the UW–Madison Division of International Studies announced today.


August 22, 2007

Arash Bashirullah has been named an assistant professor in the Pharmaceutical Sciences Program. Richard Begam, Department of English, has been named Mark and Elisabeth Eccles…

Humanities researchers earn fellowships

August 21, 2007

Four scholars in the College of Letters and Science at the University of Wisconsin–Madison were named recipients of the 2006-2007 American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) fellowships.

UW-Madison among Hartwell Foundation’s 2007 top ten biomedical research centers

August 20, 2007

For the second year in a row, the Hartwell Foundation of Memphis, Tenn., has named the University of Wisconsin–Madison as one of its Top Ten Centers of Biomedical Research.

Biochemist Frey honored for career leadership

August 16, 2007

The American Chemical Society's Division of Biological Chemistry will host a symposium in recognition of a UW–Madison biochemist's career achievements.

Limnologist receives preeminent international award

August 10, 2007

University of Wisconsin–Madison limnologist Stephen Carpenter joins the select ranks of the world's most distinguished lake researchers next week, when he will receive the highest international honor in his field.

Bacteriologist tabbed for prestigious NIH research award

July 5, 2007

Richard L. Gourse, a professor of bacteriology at the University of Wisconsin–Madison and an expert on the critical early steps of gene expression, has received a prestigious MERIT award from the National Institutes of Health, which provides research funding for up to 10 years.

Professor recognized for work on climate change and insurance

June 22, 2007

Dan Anderson, a University of Wisconsin–Madison business professor, has won a $10,000 stipend for his paper on risk management as it relates to global warming and climate change.

Two faculty named American Academy fellows

April 30, 2007

Two faculty members of the University of Wisconsin–Madison have been elected Fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.