Skip to main content

New fellows join Teaching Academy

June 2, 2008

The University of Wisconsin–Madison Teaching Academy has announced the induction of 12 new members, including four fellows and eight future faculty partners.

The mission of the Teaching Academy is to promote and recognize excellence in teaching across campus. The academy encourages innovation, experimentation, dialogue and scholarship around issues related to teaching and learning. Fellows represent faculty, academic staff, and outreach instructors who have demonstrated excellence in teaching and a commitment to improving the quality of teaching and learning across campus.

The new 2008 Teaching Academy Fellows include: Samuel F. Dennis, Jr., assistant professor, landscape architecture; Jamie Henke, faculty associate, liberal studies and arts; Ruth Lynch, professor, rehabilitation psychology and special education; and Gary E. Lyons, associate professor, anatomy.

The 2008 Teaching Academy Future Faculty Partners include: Maria Bibbs, English: composition and rhetoric; Matthew Capdeviel, English; Brian Ekdale, journalism and mass communication; Todd Goddard, English; Antonia Massa-MacLeod, English; Mitch Nakaue, English; Kevin Piper, English; and Sarah Sahni, psychology.

Future Faculty Partner (FFPs) are current graduate students, teaching assistants, medical and veterinary residents, and post-doctoral fellows, and the FFP affiliation is intended to encourage a commitment to teaching in this next generation of college and university educators.

Teaching Academy Fellows and FFP’s come from departments all across campus, and are admitted to the Academy based on their established interest and enthusiasm for teaching and on the recommendations from fellow faculty and students.