Skip to main content

Tag Faculty awards

Madison researchers join ranks of AAAS fellows

January 31, 2023

Six UW–Madison researchers are among the 506 scientists, engineers and innovators honored in this year's awards from the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

2023 Distinguished Teaching Award recipients announced

January 25, 2023

Twelve faculty members have been chosen to receive this year’s Distinguished Teaching Awards, an honor that annually recognizes some of UW–Madison's finest educators.

UW researchers honored for inventions

December 8, 2022

UW professors Susan Hagness, Jo Handelsman and Justin Williams have been named fellows of the National Academy of inventors.

UW’s Marcel Schreier wins Packard Fellowship for sustainable chemical engineering research

October 18, 2022

Research into sustainable pathways for chemical and fuel manufacturing won Marcel Schreier a 2022 Packard Fellowship for Science and Engineering.

UW’s Monica Kim named MacArthur Fellow

October 12, 2022

Historian and UW–Madison faculty member Monica Kim has been awarded a 2022 MacArthur Fellowship, also known as a "genius grant," for her work uncovering the experiences of ordinary people caught in war and complicating conventional narratives of conflict.

Chemist Randall Goldsmith named a Schmidt Science Polymath

July 5, 2022

The UW–Madison professor's multidisciplinary approach to studying chemical and biophysical systems earned a $2.5 million award from the philanthropic organization founded by the former CEO of Google.

UW scientist wins Blue Planet Prize

June 21, 2022

Steve Carpenter, one of the world’s foremost lake ecologists, has been awarded an international prize for scientific research that has helped provide solutions to global environmental problems.

32 faculty honored with Vilas professorships and awards

June 7, 2022

Seventeen professors were named to Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professorships, nine professors received Vilas Faculty Mid-Career Investigator Awards; and six professors received Vilas Faculty Early Career Investigator Awards.

Faculty receive WARF Named Professorships, Kellett Fellowships, and Romnes Awards

May 19, 2022

Thirty-two members of the UW–Madison faculty have been awarded fellowships from the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research and Graduate Education, spanning the arts and humanities, physical sciences, social sciences and biological sciences.

Two UW–Madison professors elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

April 28, 2022

Science communication expert Dietram Scheufele and chemist Shannon Stahl join 259 other newly elected members across academia, the arts, industry and public policy.

UW–Madison scholar wins 2022 Carnegie Fellowship

April 26, 2022

Monica White will use the $200,000 award to complete the research and writing of her second book, We Stayed: Agriculture, Activism, and the Southern Black Rural Families Who Fought to Keep the Land.

Four UW–Madison researchers awarded prestigious Sloan Fellowships

February 16, 2022

Each fellow receives $75,000 in research funding from the foundation, which awards Sloan Research Fellowships in eight scientific and technical fields to promising researchers in the early stages of their careers.

2022-23 Vilas Associates Competition awardees announced

February 3, 2022

The Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research and Graduate Education is recognizing 26 faculty members in wide-ranging fields for “new and ongoing research of the highest quality and significance.”

National science organization AAAS grants fellowship status to 13 from UW

January 25, 2022

The honor, presented annually since 1874, recognizes efforts to advance science and society, with the fellows expected to maintain the highest standards of scientific integrity and professional ethics.

UW–Madison biochemist Amy Weeks named Packard Fellow

October 14, 2021

The fellowship is awarded annually to early-career scientists whose research has led to new discoveries that improve people’s lives and enhance our understanding of the universe.

Physicist, philosopher receive Vilas honors

July 13, 2021

Created “for the advancement of learning,” Vilas Research Professorships are granted to faculty with proven research ability and unusual qualifications and promise.

Faculty receive WARF Named Professorships, Kellett Fellowships, and Romnes Awards

May 25, 2021

The awardees span the four divisions on campus: arts and humanities, physical sciences, social sciences and biological sciences.