Skip to main content


October 22, 2008

Kumar Sridharan, Department of Engineering Physics, has been elected Fellow of American Society for Materials.

Herbert Chen has been appointed vice chair of research for the Department of Surgery.

2008–09 faculty promotions and new appointments

Promotions from associate and new appointments

Ananth Seshadri, economics; and Amy Quan Barry, English; School of Medicine and Public Health: Maureen Durkin, population health sciences; Anna Huttenlocher, medical microbiology and immunology and pediatrics; David Jarrard, surgery; Gail Robertson, physiology; Howard Bailey, medicine; Timothy Kamp, medicine; Charles Page, Jr., biostatistics and medical informatics; Mark Ritter, human oncology; James Stein, medicine; Jon Woods, medical microbiology and immunology; Wade Bushman, surgery; Gary Lyons, anatomy; Aroor Moorthy, medicine; and Su-Chun Zhang, anatomy.

Promotions from assistant to associate professor

College of Agricultural and Life Sciences: Aseem Ansari, biochemistry; Amy Charkowski, plant pathology; Hasan Khatib, dairy science; Patrick Krysan, horticulture; Huichuan Lai, nutritional science; Sara Patterson, horticulture; Karen Wassarman, bacteriology; and Cameron Currie, bacteriology; School of Business: Sung Kim; in the School of Education, Richard Halverson, educational leadership and policy analysis; Paul Sacaridiz, art; Kurt Squire, curriculum and instruction; and Ruth Benedict, kinesiology; College of Engineering: Naomi Chesler, biomedical engineering; Paul Evans, material sciences and engineering; David Lynn, chemical and biological engineering; Katherine McMahon, civil and environmental engineering; Krishnan Suresh, mechanical engineering; Paul Wilson, engineering physics; Zhenqiang Ma, electrical and computer engineering; and Jeffrey Linderoth, industrial and systems engineering; School of Human Ecology: Mark Nelson; in the School of Law, Anuj Desai; in the College of Letters and Science, Ann Archbold, theatre and drama; Thomas Armbrecht, French and Italian; Anthony Auger, psychology; Paul Barford, computer sciences; Helen Blackwell, chemistry; Gail Brassard, theatre and drama; Andrei Caldararu, mathematics; Glen Close, Spanish and Portuguese; Serguei Denissov, mathematics; An Hai Doan, computer science; Scott Gehlbach, political science; Naomi Geyer, East Asian languages and literature; Sara Guyer, English; Mark Harrower, geography; John Hawks, anthropology; Robert Howard, communication arts; Jessica Johnson, School of Music; B. Venkat Mani, German; Andrew Reynolds, Slavic languages; Lauren Riters, zoology; Sherrill Sellers, School of Social Work; Richard Staley, history of science; Scott Straus, political science; Sean Teuton, English; Mary Trotter, theatre and drama; Martin Zanni, chemistry; Geoffrey Wallace, LaFollette School of Public Affairs; Stefan Westerhoff, physics; and John Williams, geography; School of Medicine and Public Health: Aaron Field, radiology; Sean Fain, medical physics; Raghu Vemuganti, neurological surgery; Amy Trentham Dietz, population health sciences; Michelle Basso, physiology; Matthew Banks, anesthesiology; Ananth Shalev, medicine; Judith Houck, medical history and bioethics (also women’s studies); Richard Keller, medical history and bioethics; Stacy Schultz-Cherry, medical microbiology and immunology; Lori Bakken, medicine; Alexandra Adams, family medicine; Marlowe Eldridge, pediatrics; Guanghong Chen, medical physics (also radiology); Laura Knoll, medical microbiology and immunology; Weixiong Zhong, pathology and laboratory medicine; School of Pharmacy: Linjun Li; School of Veterinary Medicine: Adel Talaat, pathobiological sciences.