Skip to main content


April 23, 2008
  • Andrew Cohn, director of government and association relations for the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation, received the Bayh-Dole Award from the Association of University Technology Managers.
  • Three faculty members have been named Chevaliers de l’Ordre des Palmes Académiques in a private ceremony with the French Consul General in acknowledgement of their work building and running the intercultural program Environmental Policy, Land Use and Conservation Biology in Franco-American Perspective. The recipients are Caitilyn Allen, plant pathology and women’s studies; Don Waller, botany and environmental sciences; and Harvey Jacobs, urban and regional planning and environmental studies.
  • Gov. Jim Doyle has made three recent appointments to the Board of Regents, including United Auto Workers official John Drew; Kettle Moraine School District Assistant Superintendent Betty Womack; and Danae Davis, director of a Milwaukee-based girl empowerment and leadership nonprofit and a current Board of Regents member receiving a reappointment by Doyle.
  • Sam Dennis, landscape architecture, has received a 2008 Public Health Award from Madison and Dane County.
  • The Executive Council of the Modern Language Association has appointed John Dillon, a bibliographer of European Humanities for the UW–Madison libraries, to be chair of the MLA’s Advisory Committee on the “MLA International Bibliography,” a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages and literatures, pertinent aspects of folklore, and linguistics.
  • Evelyn Anne Howell, Department of Landscape Architecture, has been named National Academies Education Fellow in the Life Sciences for the 2007–08 academic year.
  • Christopher Kleinhenz, French and Italian, was presented with the 2008 Robert L. Kindrick/CARA Award for Outstanding Service to Medieval Studies.
  • Gordon Mitchell, professor and chair of the Department of Comparative Biosciences at the School of Veterinary Medicine, has been selected as a councillor to the American Physiological Society (APS). The APS has nine elected councilors who make all the major policy decisions relevant to the society and make committee appointments.
  • Phil Townsend, forest and wildlife ecology, is among 19 environmental researchers from across North America who have been awarded Leopold Leadership Fellowships for 2008.
  • The Center for World Affairs and the Global Economy announced the three winners of its research collaborative competition. Each receive a total of $100,000 over a three- year period. The winning projects include “Governance in Economic Development: Law, Politics and the Role of the State,” which analyzes ways the role of the state is being reinterpreted and renegotiated in response to globalization and how more interventionist states will interact with today’s highly globalized international economy; “Governing New Conflicts in Global Energy Futures,” which will investigate emerging conflicts arising from changing energy policies, examine how they relate to existing global governance mechanisms, and assess the preparedness of those mechanisms for tackling these new conflicts; and “Managing Challenges of Import Safety in a Global Market,” which builds on expertise housed in the College of Engineering, Law School, School of Business, College of Agricultural and Life Sciences and the School of Human Ecology, examining market, regulatory and hybrid approaches to managing risk from contamination of food commodities in the global supply chain.