Skip to main content


August 27, 2008

Geology and geophysics professor Jean Bahr has been elected vice president of the Geological Society of America for a one-year term from July 2008-June 2009.

Elliot Friedman, Institute on Aging, has been invited to present at the 2008 Annual Meeting of the Institute of Medicine.

Jason Jonely is assistant director for International Student Services.

K. Craig Kent, the Greenberg-Starr Professor of Vascular Surgery at Cornell University and professor at Columbia College of Physicians and Surgeons, has been named chair of surgery at the School of Medicine and Public Health.

Mikko H. Lipasti, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, was among 41 professors worldwide to receive Innovation Research Awards, which fund strategic joint research projects between academic research institutions worldwide and HP Labs, the company’s central research arm.

John Stevens, professor of tuba and euphonium, received a lifetime achievement award from the International Tuba-Euphonium Association. The award is the highest honor given to any individual in the professional tuba/euphonium community.

Susan Webb Yackee, La Follette School of Public Affairs and Department of Political Science, won the Paul Volcker Endowment Junior Scholar Research Grant from the American Political Science Association’s Public Administration Section. The $3,000 award will support her research project “Does Political Accountability Lead to Regulatory Delay? An Empirical Assessment of Federal Agency Rulemaking.”

The Center for World Affairs and the Global Economy (WAGE) granted Individual Research Awards to four faculty. The faculty members honored include Allison Christians, School of Law, Zhongdang Pan, communication arts, Yongming Zhou, anthropology, and Jason Yackee, School of Law.

The division of urology within the School of Medicine and Public Health has become the Department of Urology. Stephen Y. Nakada, the David T. Uehling professor of urology who has headed the division since 2001, was appointed chair of the new department.

The Repair and Desktop Support (RaDS) group in the Division of Information Technology received an AppleCare Commitment to Excellence award from Apple Inc.