Skip to main content

Tag Shared governance

Deputy secretary named interim secretary of academic staff

February 11, 2020

Jake Smith, who succeeds Heather Daniels, will serve as a resource and liaison between the Academic Staff Executive Committee and university administration, and will assist in shared governance for more than 10,000 academic staff.

Voting under way on campus

October 25, 2016

Students register to vote and cast ballots in the 2016 presidential election Monday at the Student Activities Center. For details on how to vote early, visit

Tenure task force to meet Dec. 23

December 16, 2015

The UW System Tenure Policy Task Force will meet next week to discuss draft proposals regarding faculty layoff and post-tenure review policies.

Q&A on tenure protection proposal

September 22, 2015

An ad hoc committee of faculty members charged with recommending policies to continue strong tenure protections in response to legislative changes made in the 2015-17 state budget has released a report with recommendations. The answers below were written by Professor Dorothy Farrar Edwards, a member of the University Committee who chaired the ad hoc committee on tenure and termination, Vice Provost for Faculty and Staff Programs Michael Bernard-Donals, and Secretary of the Faculty Steven Smith.

UC approves faculty layoff protection proposal

September 15, 2015

The University Committee Monday approved and distributed to all faculty a report regarding tenure protections and program changes. The report can be viewed here.

Academic Staff Assembly joins call for further study of proposed public authority

March 10, 2015

The Academic Staff Assembly voted Monday on resolutions calling for more study on a proposed public authority for the University of Wisconsin System and greater flexibility in the timing and amount of state budget cuts.

New website promotes shared governance

October 7, 2014

Shared governance is one of the most important aspects of the University of Wisconsin System, with its principles specifically noted in state statute. Wisconsin Chapter 36 established the right to have this important voice and role on campus.