Skip to main content

Photo gallery Enhancing the entrepreneurial ecosystem

March 29, 2022

The 2022 Chancellor’s Entrepreneurial Achievement Awards honor University of Wisconsin–Madison innovators and alumni who further the Wisconsin Idea through outstanding accomplishments in entrepreneurship. A ceremony honoring the recipients was held March 23 at the Discovery Building.

A group of several dozen people standing and talking among themselves in the brightly lit Discovery Building lobby

A reception and ceremony honoring the 2022 Chancellor's Entrepreneurial Achievement Award recipients was held March 23 at the Discovery Building. Andy Manis

Blank laughing while visiting with 2 people at a reception in the lobby of the Discovery Building

Chancellor Blank says the Entrepreneurial Achievement Awards recognize how "UW–Madison’s vibrant culture encourages innovation among faculty, staff, students and alumni." Andy Manis

Allen-Hoffman posing for a photograph in front of a slide of her portrait and bio projected on a video screen

Lynn Allen-Hoffman founded Stratatech to develop a cell-based skin graft to help treat burn victims using a unique skin cell line discovered in her laboratory. Andy Manis

King-Bailey speaking at podium while Blank and unidentified man sit behind her on stage, smiling

Valarie King-Bailey, at podium, founded a company that specializes in testing computer systems used by global pharmaceutical, nutraceutical, chemical and health care companies. Listening on the dais are Dan Olszweski, director of the Weinert Center for Entrepreneurship, and Chancellor Blank. Andy Manis

Bakke speaking into microphone at podium

Jim Bakke has transformed Sub-Zero Group into an industry-leading manufacturer of luxury kitchen appliances. Andy Manis

Resnick speaking into microphone at podium

Scott Resnick, COO of Hardin Design & Development, is an entrepreneur, civic leader and prominent player in Madison’s collaborative startup ecosystem. Andy Manis

Blank speaking into microphone at podium with glass trophies next to it on a table

"Their work is a shining example of the Wisconsin Idea,” Chancellor Rebecca Blank said of the award winners.

Award winners holding glass trophies

From left: Chancellor Blank poses with honorees Jim Bakke, Lynn Allen-Hoffman, Scott Resnick and Valarie King-Bailey. Andy Manis

See more photo stories