Skip to main content

Four UW-Madison professors named AAAS fellows

November 25, 2013 By Terry Devitt

Four members of the University of Wisconsin–Madison faculty are among 338 individuals elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), it was announced today (Monday, Nov. 25).

AAAS logo

The four scholars from UW–Madison receiving the distinction are:


  • Dominique Brossard, professor of life sciences communication, “for distinguished contributions to our understanding of the role media plays in influencing public opinion and policy about science and technology, particularly controversial scientific innovations.”
  • William H. Karasov, a professor of wildlife ecology, “for distinguished contributions to physiological ecology, particularly in the areas of comparative and evolutionary digestive physiology with implications for basic science and ecological management.”
  • Alberto Palloni, professor of sociology, “for international distinction in mathematical social demography, particularly for microsimulations of African HIV-AIDS diffusion, and for identifying early childhood precursors of differential adult mortality and health.”
  • Tehshik P. Yoon, professor of chemistry, “for the discovery of novel, useful, and fundamentally interesting methods to mediate chemical transformations.”

According to the citation from AAAS, individuals elevated to the rank of fellow are recognized for scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science and its applications.

New fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a rosette pin on Saturday, Feb. 15 at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2014 AAAS Annual Meeting in Chicago.