Skip to main content

AAAS honors four UW-Madison professors for advancing science

November 24, 2014 By Chris Barncard

Four members of the University of Wisconsin–Madison faculty have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the society announced today.

UW–Madison’s honorees are:

Photo: Alan Attie

Alan Attie

Alan D. Attie, professor of biochemistry, “for distinguished contributions to genetics and endocrinology, particularly through characterization of the genetics of diabetes in mouse model systems.”

Photo: Andrew Bent

Andrew Bent

Andrew F. Bent, professor of plant pathology, “for distinguished contributions in dissecting molecular interactions between plant pathogens and their host, and for selfless leadership in his professional societies.”

Photo: Manos Mavrikakis

Manos Mavrikakis

Manos Mavrikakis, professor of chemical and biological engineering, “for outstanding contributions to our fundamental understanding of the site-specific chemical reactions leading to new catalytic materials.”

Photo: Deane Mosher

Deane Mosher

Deane Mosher, professor of biomolecular chemistry, “for illuminating the roles of fibronectin, vitronectin, and thrombospondins in cell adhesion and migration, the assembly of the extracellular matrix, and human disease.”

Since 1874, members of AAAS, the world’s largest general scientific society, have elected fellows based on their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science. The fellows will be formally inducted Feb. 14, 2015 at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the AAAS Annual Meeting in San Jose, California.