Skip to main content

Three UW–Madison faculty members honored as AAAS fellows

December 13, 2011 By Chris Barncard

Three University of Wisconsin–Madison researchers have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Selection as a AAAS fellow is a high honor conferred by peers in recognition of distinguished efforts to advance science and its applications. AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society, and the tradition of naming fellows in honor of their achievements dates to 1874.

Included in the 2011 class of AAAS fellows are:

  • Richard Amasino, biochemistry professor, for distinguished contributions to our understanding of the genetic and biochemical mechanisms that control seasonal flowering as well as for leadership in science education.
  • Robert Mathieu, astronomy professor, for fundamental research on star clusters, binaries, and star-forming regions; for community service and leadership of the WIYN Observatory; and for innovation in STEM education.
  • John Denu, biomolecular chemistry professor, for pioneering contributions to the understanding of the chemical basis of epigenetics.

The new fellows will be honored in February at a forum during the 2012 AAAS Annual Meeting in Vancouver, B.C., Canada.