Skip to main content

Nominations invited for vice provost for diversity

November 25, 2014 By Käri Knutson

A national search is underway to fill the position of vice provost for diversity/chief diversity officer, and members of the campus community are encouraged to submit nominations.

Patrick Sims, professor of theatre and drama and director of the Department of Theatre and Drama’s Theatre for Cultural and Social Awareness (TCSA), has served as interim vice provost for diversity and climate since August 2013, when he replaced Damon Williams. The new vice provost for diversity is expected to start in April.

Brian Yandell, chair and professor in the Department of Statistics, is serving as chair of the search and screen committee. Applications and nominations can be sent to the vice provost for diversity search and screen committee at Applications and nominations should be received by Jan. 19.

The Division of Diversity, Equity and Educational Achievement supports the mission of the University of Wisconsin–Madison as it works to create a diverse, inclusive, and excellent learning and work environment for all students, faculty, staff, alumni, and others who partner with the university. This is accomplished through collaboration, leadership and seeding of new initiatives, consultative advice, and the coordination of numerous institutional initiatives, while supervising the key diversity units that comprise the division. While the vice provost for diversity leads a number of institutional initiatives, he/she/ze also provides leadership, coordination and support for the many efforts underway in schools, colleges and other administrative units across the campus.

Principal duties of the vice provost for diversity include serving as a member of the provost’s senior leadership team; providing guidance and recommendations to the chancellor, provost and other campus and UW System leadership in matters of diversity, equity, and inclusion; overseeing implementation of UW–Madison’s new Diversity Framework and working with campus units to create and maintain robust pathways for diverse and underrepresented populations and to ensure that students experience the support and welcoming climate necessary for their success.

Other members of the search and screen committee are: Jacquelyn Arbuckle, clinical associate professor, Surgery; Naomi Chesler, professor, Biomedical Engineering; Ricardo Court, senior student services coordinator, Political Science; Arturo Diaz, student representative; Kelly Gallagher, accountant, Division of Diversity, Equity and Educational Achievement; Michael Johnson, office operations associate, Facilities Planning and Management; William Jones, professor, History; Nancy Kendall, associate professor, Educational Policy Studies; Patricia Loew, professor, Life Science Communications; Becci Menghini, chief of staff, Office of the Chancellor; Walter Parrish, student representative; Margaret Raymond, dean, Law School; Tehshik Yoon, professor, Chemistry; Sierra Beckles Young, associate university legal counsel, Office of Legal Affairs.

A complete description of the position can be found here.