Skip to main content


February 25, 2009

Shuchi Shawla, computer science; Karsten Heeger, physics; Song Jin, chemistry; and Tehshik Yoon, chemistry, have been awarded 2009 Sloan Research Fellowships, which support fundamental research by early career scientists and scholars of outstanding promise.

Brad Pendergrass, former assistant athletic director for football operations at Mississippi State University, has been hired as the director of football operations.

The Office of Child Care and Family Resources has awarded Classified Staff Child Care Scholarships to Gina R. Hutzler, School of Medicine; Shana Treu, Office of the Dean of Students-Associated Students of Madison; and Anne Abresch, University Health Services.

The Board of Regents awarded sabbaticals to UW-Madison faculty during its December meeting. The following people will be on sabbatical for 2009–10: Teresa Adams, civil and environmental engineering; Anthony Auger, psychology; Jean Bahr, geology and geophysics; Judith Bartfeld, consumer science; James Baughman, journalism and mass communications; Katarzyna Beilin, Spanish and Portuguese; Mary Beltran, communication arts; Ralf Bennartz, atmospheric and oceanic sciences; Norman Berven, rehabilitation psychology and special education; Vicki Bier, industrial and systems engineering; Helen Blackwell, chemistry; Robert Blick, electrical and computer engineering; Marianne Bloch, curriculum and instruction; Sergey Bolotin, mathematics; Katherine Bowie, anthropology; Gail Brassard, theatre and drama; Philip Brown, geology and geophysics; Alan Carroll, geology and geophysics; Xiuxiong Chen, mathematics; Andrey Chubukov, physics; Glen S. Close, Spanish and Portuguese; Juan Comesana, philosophy; Kelley Conway, communication arts; Ian Coxhead, agricultural and applied economics; Qiang Cui, chemistry; Stephen Dembski, music; David DeMets, biostatistics and medical informatics; Juan DePablo, chemical and biological engineering; Charo D’Etcheverry, East Asian languages and literature; James Doing, music; Randall Dunham, management and human resources; Susan Ellis Weismer, communicative disorders; Murvet Enc, linguistics; Martha Fischer, music; Cynthia Fowler, communicative disorders; Stephen Gammie, zoology; Chad Goldberg, sociology; Richard Goodkin, French and Italian; Michael Graham, chemical and biological engineering; Gary Green, rural sociology; Michel Guillot, sociology; Anne Hansen, languages and culture of Asia; Donald Harmatuck, operations and information management; Margaret Hawkins, curriculum and instruction; John Hawks, anthropology; Robert Howard, communication arts; Ann Hoyt, consumer science; Xincun Huang, East Asian languages and literature; Sharon Hutchinson, anthropology; Anthony Ives, zoology; Stephanie Jutt, music; Weiyuan Kao, pharmacy and biomedical engineering; Nancy Keller, medical microbiology and immunology, bacteriology; Carolyn Kelley, educational leadership and policy analysis; Theresa Kelley, English; Elizabeth Kramer, social work; Nancy Langston, forest and wildlife ecology; James Leary, Scandinavian studies; Steffen Lempp, mathematics; Robert Lorenz, mechanical engineering; David Lynn, chemical and biological engineering; Douglas Marschalek, art; Nancy Mathews, Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies; Emmanouil Mavrikakis, chemical and biological engineering; Luke Mawst, electrical and computer engineering; Robert McMahon, chemistry; Anthony Michels, history; Julie Mitchell, mathematics and biochemistry; Judith Mitchell, English; James Montgomery, sociology and economics; Lorrie Moore, English; Gregory Moses, engineering physics; Alexander Nagel, mathematics; Mark Nelson, design studies; Mary Lee Nelson, counseling psychology; Joseph Newman, psychology; F. Javier Nieto, population health sciences; John Niles, English; Robert Nowak, electrical and computer engineering; Marshall Onellion, physics; Stephen Quintana, counseling psychology; Andrew Reynolds, Slavic languages and literature; Timothy Riddiough, real estate; Mary Louise Roberts, history; Amos Ron, computer sciences; Carol Ryff, psychology; William Sandholm, economics; Ana Carolina Sartorio, philosophy; Francisco Scarano, history; Elaine Scheer, art; Simone Scheweber, curriculum and instruction; Leyuan Shi, industrial and systems engineering; Janet Silbernagel Balster, landscape architecture; James Skinner, chemistry; Edgar Spalding, botany; Krishnan Suresh, mechanical engineering; R. Anderson Sutton, music; Susan Sweeney, theatre and drama; Jolanda Vanderwal Taylor, German; Tanya Thresher, Scandinavian studies; Amy Trentham-Dietz, population health sciences; Michael Vanden Heuvel, theatre and drama; James Walker, economics; Ronald Wallace, English; Pao-Kuan Wang, atmospheric and oceanic sciences; Terry Warfield, accounting and information systems; Craig Werner, Afro-American studies; Kenneth West, economics; Ethelene Whitmire, library and information studies; Louise Young, history; Shiyu Zhou, industrial and systems engineering.