Skip to main content


November 19, 2008

Marina Emborg, medical physics, and Su-Chun Zhang, anatomy and neurology, received a grant from the Parkinson’s Disease Foundation for a pilot study to explore the use of dopaminergic neurons derived from induced pluripotent stem cells to treat Parkinson’s disease. The scientists will conduct the work at the Waisman Center and the Wisconsin National Primate Research Center.

Kay Reuter-Krohn has been promoted to associate director of housing and director of residence life.

Igor Slukvin, pathology and laboratory medicine, received a grant from the Lupus Foundation of America to explore the use of induced pluripotent stem cells in treating systemic lupus erythematous. Slukvin conducts his research through the Primate Center.

The UW System Institute on Race and Ethnicity has awarded nine grants to faculty at UW–Madison, including: Mary Beltran, Department of Communication Arts; Joan Fujimura, Department of Sociology; Jeffrey Lewis, Department of Human Development and Family Studies; Mara Loveman, Department of Sociology; Mary Louise Roberts, Department of History; Sandy Magaña, School of Social Work; Deborah Bradley, Department of Curriculum and Instruction; Patty Loew, Department of Life Sciences Communication; and Cindy I-Fen Cheng, Department of History and Asian American Studies Program.

Hans Adler, Department of German, has been appointed Halls-Bascom Professor.

Naomi Chesler, biomedical engineering, has been awarded a Denice Denton Award from the Anita Borg Institute, given to a young faculty member who is “pursuing high-quality research in any field of engineering or physical sciences while contributing significantly to promoting diversity in his or her environment.”

Anthony Ives, Department of Zoology, has been appointed Plaenert-Bascom Professor.

The Max Kade Institute and the UW–Madison Department of German will hold an award ceremony and reception in honor of Cora Lee Kluge, director of the Max Kade Institute and professor of German, as she receives the Bundesverdienstkreuz (Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany) from German Consul General Wolfgang Drautz on Monday, Nov. 24, 6:30-8:30 at Memorial Union.

Arthur Polans, Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, has been appointed the Daniel M. Albert Professor.

Rachel Rothschild, School of Veterinary Medicine, was presented with the Friend of Veterinary Medicine Award from the Wisconsin Veterinary Medical Association at the group’s annual convention.

Nora Cate Schaeffer, Department of Sociology, has been appointed Sewell-Bascom Professor.

Hans Sollinger, Department of Surgery, has been named an honorary member of the European Surgical Association.

The Council for Advancement and Support of Education District V has given the Wisconsin Alumni Association five awards for its publications and programs: for his “Can of Worms” in On Wisconsin Magazine’s spring 2008 issue, John Allen won a gold in Excellence in Research/Scientific/Medical Writing; WAA won a silver for Best New Alumni Program for its “Forward Under 40” Awards initiative; On Wisconsin Magazine won a silver for Best Alumni/Institution Magazine; Badger Insider Magazine won a silver for Most Improved Alumni/Institution Magazine; and the “Hookup” Campaign took a silver in Excellence in Design, Poster Series.