Skip to main content

Vilas Research and Distinguished Achievement professors honored

May 14, 2015 By Chris Barncard

Two groups of extraordinary University of Wisconsin–Madison faculty were honored Monday (May 11, 2015) with awards supported by the estate of professor, Senator and Regent William F. Vilas (1840-1908).

Seven professors received Vilas Research Professorships, created by the Vilas estate trustees for the advancement of learning.

Candidates for the professorships possess unusual qualifications and promise, having been recognized nationally and internationally for the quality of their research. The professorships provide a $10,000 salary supplement, $50,000 annually for research expenses and a retirement supplement for faculty who serve at least 15 years as a Vilas Research Professor.

The 2015 recipients are:

James Dumesic, Chemical and Biological Engineering

Li Chiao-Ping, Dance

Tom Loeser, Art

William Reese, Educational Policy Studies and History

Mark Seidenberg, Psychology

Gurindar Sohi, Computer Sciences

Monica Turner, Zoology

Fifteen professors were named to Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professorships, an award recognizing distinguished scholarship as well as standout efforts in teaching and service.

The professorship provides $75,000 in flexible funding over five years — two-thirds of which is provided by the Office of the Provost through the generosity of the Vilas trustees, and one-third provided by the school or college whose dean nominated the winner.

Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professorships were awarded to:

Amy Barger, Astronomy

Kristin Eschenfelder, Library and Information Studies

Cheryl Hanley-Maxwell, Rehabilitation Psychology and Special Education

Shi Jin, Mathematics

Stephen Kantrowitz, History

Lingjun Li, Pharmacy

David Lynn, Chemical and Biological Engineering

Christos Maravelias, Chemical and Biological Engineering

Manos Mavrikakis, Chemical and Biological Engineering

Katherine McMahon, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Rob Nixon, English

David Page, Biostatistics and Medical Informatics

Dietram Scheufele, Life Sciences Communication

Lih-Sheng Turng, Mechanical Engineering

Susan Webb Yackee, Public Affairs and Political Science