Skip to main content

UW mathematics well-represented among society’s fellows

November 1, 2012 By Chris Barncard

More than 20 University of Wisconsin–Madison mathematicians are among the first class of American Mathematical Society Fellows.

The society’s fellows designation recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication, and utilization of mathematics.

Image: AMS logo


With more than 30,000 members representing nearly 600 institutions, AMS is the world’s largest society dedicated to mathematical research, scholarship, and education.

“The new AMS Fellows rogram recognizes some of the most accomplished mathematicians — AMS members who have contributed to our understanding of deep and important mathematical questions, to applications throughout the scientific world, and to educational excellence,” says Eric M. Friedlander, AMS president.

UW–Madison’s 22 members of the 1,119 new fellows are:

  • Richard Askey, emeritus professor
  • Georgia Benkart, emeritus professor
  • Nigel Boston, professor
  • Richard A. Brualdi, emeritus professor
  • Jordan S. Ellenberg, professor
  • Edward Fadell, emeritus professor
  • Simon Hellerstein, emeritus professor
  • Morris W. Hirsch, honorary fellow
  • I. Martin Isaacs, emeritus professor
  • Shi Jin, professor
  • H. Jerome Keisler, emeritus professor
  • Alexander Nagel, professor
  • Yong-Geun Oh, professor
  • Peter Orlik, emeritus professor
  • J. Marshall Osborn, emeritus professor
  • Donald S. Passman, emeritus professor
  • Paul H. Rabinowitz, emeritus professor
  • Joel Robbin, emeritus professor
  • Mary Ellen Rudin, emeritus professor
  • Louis Solomon, emeritus professor
  • Stephen Wainger, emeritus professor
  • Melanie Matchett Wood, assistant professor