Skip to main content

Riseling, student life staff honored by SPA awards

May 21, 2013 By John Lucas

UWPD Chief and Associate Vice Chancellor Susan Riseling is among the 2013 recipients of UW–Madison’s Student Personnel Association (SPA) Awards.

Photo: Sue Riseling

Susan Riseling

Riseling received the group’s highest honor – the 2013 Chancellor’s Award. The awards were distributed at a luncheon held on April 18 at the new Gordon Dining and Event Center.

Awards were made in six areas this year for nine UW–Madison winners. The recipient of the Chancellor’s Award receives a $1,000 stipend, with other winners receiving $500.

“During her time here, Sue has made an immeasurable impact on our community,” says Dean of Students Lori Berquam. “She solves problems before they start and works actively with students and administrators to foster a strong, productive relationship between the student body and the police force.”

Riseling is the 17th recipient of SPA’s Chancellor’s Award, which has been given out since 1986. The other recipients are as follows:

Excellence in Higher Education Award

Argyle Wade, associate dean in the Division of Student Life, is honored for being a leader in student services since he arrived on campus in 2007. He is dedicated to the development of his staff and the success of UW students.

Leadership in Social Justice Award

Emily Auerbach, professor of English and Odyssey Program director through the Division of Continuing Studies. The two-semester humanities course has been transformative in the lives of more than 250 low-income adults, jump-starting their paths to college degrees.

Norman Bassett Award for Outstanding Achievement in Student Services

Nancy Sandhu, associate director of Visitor and Information Programs. Sandhu provides instrumental leadership for campus tour guides, the Parent Program and the Campus Area Housing listing services, which have a major impact on students, visitors and parents.

Connie Chapman, associate registrar in the Office of the Registrar. Chapman’s tireless work behind the scenes on the Degree Audit Reporting System (DARS) has a direct impact on all students, in addition to her outreach to campus advising staff.

Frontline Award

Eve Ferguson, financial specialist in the College of Engineering. Ferguson works in the Engineering Student Development Office and has consistently looked for ways to make new contributions to the office and create a welcoming environment for students.

Susan Rogers, university services associate in the Wisconsin Union. Rogers, who has been with the Union for more than 14 years, has a reputation as the consummate professional and team player in her support of Union events like the MU Bash and other special events.

Campus Impact Award

David Laur, associate student services coordinator in the Center for the First-Year Experience. Despite having been on campus for just more than three years, Laur is credited with having a major impact on SOAR, Wisconsin Welcome and other programs benefitting the university’s new student population.

Joe Webb, associate student services specialist in the Wisconsin Union. Webb serves as advisor to UW Hoofers clubs on campus and has had a positive effect on the group by supporting its annual Rail Jam, and helping to promote a culture change among student members.

The Chancellor’s Office, the Norman Bassett Foundation, the Ineva Reilly Baldwin and Ira L. Baldwin Endowment for Student Services, the Offices of the Dean of Students and the SPA membership make the awards possible.

Founded in 1956, the SPA exists to create cross-campus connections among people who work with students to support, enhance and reinforce the learning mission of UW–Madison.