Skip to main content

Four receive honors from American Physical Society

December 27, 2011 By Jill Sakai

Four University of Wisconsin–Madison researchers are among 240 newly named fellows of the American Physical Society, an honor bestowed upon no more than half of one percent of the professional society’s membership.

The peer-awarded designation is given in recognition of significant research advances or innovative contributions in the application of physics to science and technology.

UW–Madison’s new fellows and their citations from the American Physical Society are:

  • John Booske, the Duane H. and Dorothy M. Bluemke Professor in electrical and computer engineering, chosen for pioneering contributions to the development of coherent radiation sources in the submillimeter wave and terahertz regime, in particular in the physics of sheet electron beams, advanced cathode, and interaction of high power microwave with materials.
  • Michael Graham, the Harvey D. Spangler Professor in chemical and biological engineering, selected for diverse contributions to the understanding of complex fluids, including the flow of polymer solutions in confined geometries, the nonlinear dynamics of viscoelastic flows at low and high Reynolds numbers, and the collective dynamics of swimming microorganisms.
  • George McKee Jr., an associate scientist in engineering physics, cited for seminal diagnostic development and experimental studies of the fundamental properties of turbulence and related transport in magnetically confined plasmas and detailed tests of theory.
  • Gary Shiu, professor of physics, noted for his breadth and leadership in the field of string phenomenology, and for his numerous pioneering contributions to elucidating the implications of string theory to particle physics and early universe cosmology.

Enjoy this story?

Read more news from the College of Engineering