Skip to main content

Eight faculty members appointed to WARF named professorships

April 29, 2011 By Chris Barncard

Eight members of the faculty were appointed to Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation named professorships in 2011.

The appointments, which include $75,000 in research support from WARF over five years, are:

  • Jean-Paul Chavas, T.W. Schultz Professor of Agricultural and Applied Economics, examines the role of biotechnology and changing patterns of specialization in the efficiency and stability of agriculture.
  • David L. DeMets, Max Halperin Professor of Biostatistics and Medical Information, has been active in the design, monitoring and analysis of international clinical trials and underlying statistical methods.
  • James A. Dumesic, Michel Boudart Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering, has advanced the use of catalysts for the conversion of renewable biomass resources to hydrogen, liquid hydrocarbons and intermediates for the chemical industry.
  • Paul Kaufman, Ernst H. Bárány Professor of Ocular Pharmacology, specializes in glaucoma, the mechanisms of aqueous humor formation and age-related loss of vision.
  • Laura L. Kiessling, H. Emil Fischer Professor in Chemistry, focuses on exploiting the biological roles of proteins — including coaxing bacteria into aiding in the production of surfaces on which human stem cells can grow.
  • Myra Marx Ferree, Alice H. Cook Professor of Sociology, studies gender arrangements, feminist policies and social justice in the United States and Germany.
  • Joseph Salmons, Lester W.J. “Smoky” Seifert Professor of German Linguistics, researches speech sounds and language change through historical and contemporary Germanic languages and the way immigrant communities have learned English.
  • Bruce E. Wampold, Patricia L. Wolleat Professor of Counseling Psychology, examines counseling and psychotherapy from empirical perspectives, developing a contextual model from which to understand their benefits.