Skip to main content

UW-Madison admissions director finalists named

March 15, 2010

The University of Wisconsin–Madison has announced five finalists for the position of director of undergraduate admissions and recruitment.

The finalists are:

  • Adele C. Brumfield, associate director of admissions at the University of Chicago
  • Gary A. Clark Jr., senior associate director of admissions at the University of Southern California
  • Perry H. Robinson, vice president and director of admissions at Denison University
  • J. Robert Spatig, director of undergraduate admissions at the University of South Florida
  • Paul T. White, associate dean of admissions at the University of Minnesota Medical School.

“The thoughtful and vigorous work of our search committee has presented us with five finalists with outstanding leadership credentials in the profession of admissions,” says Joanne Berg, vice provost for enrollment management.

During campus visits in April, the candidates will meet with representatives of a range of students, faculty, staff and community groups. Dates and itineraries for the campus visits will be publicized when details are finalized.

The director position centers around several key priorities. The director establishes strategic direction, priorities and goals for the Office of Admissions and the undergraduate admissions process and will lead the process of selecting emerging technologies to assist in reaching those goals.

In collaboration with campus partners, the director will develop and implement programs to recruit and enroll a diverse undergraduate population of high-ability students.

In addition, he or she will manage the complex interplay of marketing and recruiting strategies, campus enrollment goals, yield and financial aid, as well as educational and enrollment trends.

The next director will also be externally focused, representing UW–Madison to high schools, teachers, counselors, parents and students throughout the world and, in particular, in the state of Wisconsin, by effectively working with alumni, legislators and the general public.

A broadly representative search-and-screen committee made up of faculty, staff and students recently presented the list of unranked finalists to Berg. The committee was chaired by Julie Underwood, dean of the School of Education, and co-chaired by Dawn Crim, special assistant for community relations in the chancellor’s office.

The director role is currently held on an interim basis by Tom Reason.