Skip to main content

University to honor distinguished students

May 7, 2007 By John Lucas

University of Wisconsin–Madison Chancellor John Wiley will honor nearly 100 undergraduate recipients of the university’s most prestigious scholarships, fellowships and awards.

The Chancellor’s Undergraduate Awards Ceremony, to be held at 7 p.m. May 9 in Great Hall of Memorial Union, will recognize winners of the Hilldale Fellowship, the Herfurth and Kubly Awards, the Holstrom Environmental Scholarship and the University Book Store Awards as well as national Goldwater, Udall and Truman scholarships.

A total of 80 undergraduates will receive the $4,000 Wisconsin/Hilldale Undergraduate and Faculty Research Fellowships out of a pool of 202 applicants. Generous grants from the Hilldale Foundation and Wisconsin State Legislature provide for the awards, which in addition to the monetary prize, also gives undergraduates the opportunity to work in collaboration on research projects with a faculty advisor.

The competitive $2,000 Theodore Herfurth and Teddy Kubly Awards for Initiative and Efficiency will be awarded to two UW–Madison students out of a pool of 90 nominees. A grant from the Herfurth-Kubly family allows for the awards, which are based on outstanding performance in the areas of academic achievement, service, leadership and self-support.

A generous grant from Carelton and Mary Beth Holstrom of Pipersville, Penn., provides for the Carleton and Mary Beth Holstrom Environmental Scholarships. Each of the four Holstrom scholarship winners will receive $4,000, plus the opportunity to work with a faculty member on research projects relating to the environment.

Seventeen undergraduates out of over 40 applicants received the University Book Store Academic Excellence Awards, a $1,000 award provided by the University Book Store. The award is granted to undergraduate students who demonstrated excellence by completing a project through independent study.

Winners of the nationwide $7,500 Barry M. Goldwater, the $5,000 Morris K. Udall and the $30,000 Harry S. Truman scholarships will also be honored at the ceremony.