Skip to main content

Must-see TV from UW-Madison available on-air, online

June 8, 2009 By Gwen Evans

The Big Ten Network just might be the answer to TV rerun doldrums this summer as it broadcasts programs created during the academic year by the University of Wisconsin–Madison. The content showcases the Wisconsin Idea, Badger spirit, and the sifting and winnowing of ideas — a guiding foundation of the university.

Big Ten Network logo

UW-Madison is one of three universities to earn a regular time slot on Tuesdays at 8 p.m. CST — part of a five-hour period highlighting campus academic programming through the month of July.

With its production partners, John Roach Projects and Wisconsin Public Television, UW–Madison has produced more original programming for the network than any other Big Ten school, totaling about 30 hours.

The programming includes “The Wheel,” a magazine-style program that is reported and hosted by students; “In My Humble Opinion (IMHO),” unscripted student conversations on topics of the day, a la “The View”; “Office Hours,” a talk show hosted by Ken Goldstein, UW–Madison professor of political science; and “Wisconsin Reflections,” intimate conversations with Wisconsin alumni, campus personalities such as director of athletics Barry Alvarez, as well as friends of the campus.

“This is a tremendous opportunity to showcase the campus and to share what’s happening here at Wisconsin with viewers around the state and our alumni across the country,” says Peter Kleppin, Big Ten Network project director.

The university has also produced several standalone shows. “First Wave, An Unfiltered Story” documents the impact and success of UW–Madison’s hip-hop theater program; “Walk Wisconsin” takes viewers on an armchair tour of the Madison campus; and “The Big Ten Battleground 2008” analyzed the results of a voter polls held in Big Ten states preceding the November elections. That program was a rare regional partnership involving eight Big Ten universities.

When the Big Ten Network launched on Aug. 30, 2007, it promised an extensive schedule of conference sports events and shows. It also made available to each of the 11 member institutions up to 60 hours per year of university-produced programming to showcase academics, the arts, student achievement, campus activities, research breakthroughs, alumni accomplishments, classroom excellence and more.

The Big Ten Network is carried on Dish Network channel 439 and Direct TV channel 610, and Charter cable on channel 73, along with multiple other cable companies in the state of Wisconsin.

The schedule below details broadcast programming dates and times for the Big Ten Network. Viewers can also watch the programs anytime online on iTunes U.

  • Tuesday, June 9, 9 p.m.: “IMHO ” My Generation”
  • Thursday, June 11, 2 p.m.: “Office Hours — The Common Cold”
  • Friday, June 12, 11 a.m.: “IMHO — Money”
  • Tuesday, June 16, 9 p.m.: “IMHO — Get a Social Life”
  • Thursday, June 18, 2 p.m.:”Office Hours — The Mind of a Psychopath”
  • Friday, June 19, 11 a.m.: “IMHO — My Generation”
  • Tuesday, June 23, 9 p.m.: “IMHO — Student Volunteerism”
  • Thursday, June 25, 2 p.m.:”Wisconsin Reflections — Distinguished Alumni Awards”
  • Friday, June 26, 11 a.m.: “Wisconsin Reflections — Jazz Legend Richard Davis”
  • Tuesday, June 30, 9 p.m.: “IMHO — Reinventing Yourself”
  • Thursday, July 2, 9 p.m.: “Office Hours — Darwin’s 200th Anniversary”
  • Friday, July 3, 11 a.m.: “IMHO — Get a Social Life”
  • Tuesday, July 7, 9 p.m.: “IMHO — The Political Student”
  • Thursday, July 9, 2 p.m.: “Office Hours — The Common Cold”
  • Friday, July 10, 11 a.m.: “IMHO — Student Volunteerism”
  • Tuesday, July 14, 9 p.m.: “IMHO — New Media”
  • Thursday, July 16, 2 p.m.: “Office Hours — International Relations”
  • Friday, July 17, 11 a.m.: “IMHO — Reinventing Yourself”
  • Tuesday, July 21, 9 p.m.: “IMHO — Diversity”
  • Tuesday, July 21, 9:30 p.m.: “The Wisconsin Idea”
  • Thursday, July 23, 2 p.m.: “Wisconsin Reflections — Distinguished Alumni Awards”
  • Friday, July 24, 11 a.m.: “Wisconsin Reflections — Athletic Director Barry Alvarez”
  • Tuesday, July 28, 9 p.m.: “IMHO — New Media”
  • Thursday, July 30, 2 p.m.: “Office Hours — Brewing”
  • Friday, July 31, 11 a.m.: “IMHO — Reinventing Yourself.”