Ad hoc committee to lead the way for campus diversity plan

February 5, 2013 By Susannah Brooks

As UW–Madison looks toward the next decade, a new committee will help the campus community envision a comprehensive plan to address issues of diversity.

The 2013 Ad Hoc Diversity Planning Committee (AHDPC) was formed in response to a charge set out by the University Committee to the Committee on Diversity and Campus Climate (CDCC). Following the charge, presented in November, a charter drafted on December 12 outlined the AHDPC’s parameters.

“There are many valuable programs and dedicated individuals working to enhance diversity and support a positive campus climate. This is an opportunity for us to take a critical look at what we are doing, and to focus attention on areas where we can improve our collective efforts,” says Provost Paul M. DeLuca Jr. “We’re pleased that the ad hoc committee membership reflects many areas of campus life, but we also look forward to the ongoing community dialogues that will help direct our discussions during this critical process.”

The AHDPC aims to develop a comprehensive proposal for a new diversity plan for UW–Madison, providing periodic reports to the CDCC, relevant governance bodies and the university’s administration throughout the drafting process. The committee intends to present the plan for endorsement by the Faculty Senate, the Academic Staff Assembly and the ASM Council prior to the end of the academic year.

Co-chaired by MBA student Michael Jackson and communicative disorders Professor Ruth Litovsky, the committee includes broad representation from across the campus community. Dozens of individuals were nominated to represent students, classified staff, academic staff and faculty.

In addition, the committee includes seven ex officio members representing key administrative departments at UW–Madison, five ex officio members from the greater Madison community, and a facilitator (to be named by the committee) from UW–Madison’s Office of Quality Improvement (OQI).

A complete list of committee members can be found here.


Tags: diversity