August 24, 1999


Seymour Abrahamson, professor emeritus of zoology, received the third order of the Sacred Treasure of Japan in May for his work as permanent director, among other positions, during six years with the Radiation Effects Research Foundation in Hiroshima and Nagasaki. The University of Massachusetts Athletic Hall of Fame inducted men’s soccer coach Kalekeni M. Banda as part of its Class of 1999 this summer. Banda was the head women’s soccer coach there from 1980-87, compiling a 120-25-10 record, including five consecutive trips to the final four.

Joanne Cantor, professor of communication arts, received the B. Aubrey Fisher Mentorship Award from the International Communication Association for her contributions as a mentor of doctoral students. She also was named a Fellow of the Association in recognition of her research and for “increasing the visibility and respect for the communication field outside of the academy.”

Jannette Collins, associate professor of radiology, is one of 40 women from medical and dental schools nationwide selected to participate in the 1999-2000 Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine Program for Women.

The Spencer Foundation named three UW–Madison graduate students as 1999 Spencer Dissertation Fellows for Research Related to Education. They are: Ines Dussel, education; Jennifer Imazeki, a project assistant in education; and Margaret Nash, education.

This year’s Alice in Dairyland is Amy Fischer, a program assistant in animal science, who holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from that department. Four College of Engineering faculty members have received 1999 Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Awards from the National Science Foundation. Civil and environmental engineering assistant professors Gregory W. Harrington and Daniel R. Noguera, and electrical and computer engineering assistant professor Akbar Sayeed each have received four-year, $210,000 awards; mechanical engineering assistant professor Jaal Ghandhi received a $235,000 four-year award.

Betty R. Hasselkus, professor of kinesiology, has been inducted into the Academy of Research of the American Occupational Therapy Foundation.

Stanley Inhorn, emeritus medical director of the Wisconsin State Laboratory of Hygiene and emeritus professor of the UW Medical School, was given the Lifetime Achievement Award by the Association of Public Health Laboratories at its annual meeting in June.

Eric A. Johnson, professor of food microbiology and toxicology, received the Educator Award this month from the International Association of Milk, Food and Environmental Sanitarians.

Truman Lowe, professor of art, is among the first five artists nationwide to receive a $20,000 Eiteljorg Fellowship for Native American Fine Art. The work of Lowe and the other fellows will be exhibited at the Eiteljorg Museum of American Indians and Western Art in Indianapolis starting in November.

The Association of University Related Research Parks in June honored Wayne McGown with a career achievement award for “developing one of America’s most innovative research parks” and for his earlier 20 years of service in state government. McGown retired in July after 16 years at the helm of the University Research Park.

Avshalom Caspi and Terri Moffitt, both psychology professors, were awarded a five-year, £1.8 million grant from the Medical Research Council of the United Kingdom in August 1998 to launch the “Environmental Risk Study,” a new longitudinal study of 1,100 families who have preschool twins. In addition, the British Academy of Medical Sciences. inducted Moffitt as a fellow in July.